The Dean of the Laney Graduate School is advised by a faculty governance system composed of the Directors of Graduate Study, an elected Executive Council, and an Appointments Committee. The graduate school is also represented in the broader university governance system by two faculty members.

Below are the current members. 

Laney Graduate School Executive Council

The Executive Council is an elected body of nine members of the graduate faculty, elected by the faculty as a whole in accordance with the Faculty Governance document (see right). 

The Council meets monthly, and meetings are chaired by the Dean. The Executive Council reviews proposals for new courses or programs, and for changes in existing courses or programs on a rolling basis. To be added to the Executive Council agenda, proposals must be received by the Laney Graduate School two weeks prior to the meeting date. Graduate school staff will determine that proposals are complete before distribution to the council.

To ensure timely review, new or changed courses to be offered in the fall semester must be submitted to the Executive Council prior to the January meeting. Please be aware that the Executive Council often has a full agenda, and proposals submitted late in the spring semester may be deferred until the next academic year.

If you have questions about the Executive Council or want to place an item before the Council, please contact Senior Associate Dean Cathryn Johnson at

Members of the Executive Council serve three year terms. 

2018-19 members

Final Term
Roxani Margariti, Islamic Civilizations Studies Spring 2019
Carla Berg, Behavioral Sciences and Health Education Spring 2019
Larry Boise, Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences Spring 2019
Patricia Brennan, Psychology Spring 2020
Andrew Mitchell, Philosophy Spring 2020
Penelope Howards, Epidemiology Spring 2020
Judith Evans Grubbs, History Spring 2021
Ellen Idler, Sociology Spring 2021
Malu Tansey, Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences Spring 2021

Appointments Committee

The Appointments Committee consist of three elected members, one from each of the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, and two members appointed by the Dean. Elected and appointed members will serve a term of two years. The Committee advises the Dean on the membership and composition of all award and fellowship committees for the graduate school, and any other committees that may be necessary to the business of the graduate school.

2018-19 members

Final Term
Christine Moe, Environmental Health Sciences Spring 2019
Tamara Caspary, Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences Spring 2020
Susan Gagliardi, Art History Spring 2020
Craig Hadley, Anthropology Spring 2020
Melissa Williams, Business Spring 2020

University Senate and Faculty Council

The Laney Graduate School is represented by two faculty members on the University Senate and Faculty Council. Representatives are elected by the faculty and serve three year terms.

2018-19 representatives

Representative Final Term
Astrid Prinz, GDBBS Spring 2019
Sandra Garraway, Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences Spring 2020

Laney Contact

Cathryn Johnson